An otterly brilliant trip to Meare Heath

Black-winged stilt with black-tailed godwit at Meare Heath

A few days ago I went on a quick trip to Meare Heath and missed an otter by about 5 seconds. I couldn’t complain too much as I’d just seen a black-winged stilt that was on a one-day stopover before heading elsewhere – but I was still miffed.

This afternoon, after I’d completed my Easter ministerial duties, Jen and I were keen to plan an afternoon that would work both for my mother, and Andrew & Rachael and their kids. That’s how we ended up back at Meare Heath – the kids could wheel their way up and down the track, while I went with Jen and mum to the hide. (Ulterior motives? Surely not!)

We’d just got to the hide when one of the guys there pointed out an otter in the lagoon. I’d had a good sighting of one some months ago, but had not photographed it – so I realised this was my opportunity!

Otter in the lagoon at Meare Heath.

Otter in the lagoon at Meare Heath.

We were able to watch it continuously for about five minutes as it meandered across the shallow waters, hunting for prey. Eventually it caught a huge eel that looked as long as the otter itself.

The otter battling with the eel – though there was little doubt about the eventual winner.

Having won, the otter trots off into the reedbed.

Never having photographed an otter before, this was a wonderful encounter!

 

2 thoughts on “An otterly brilliant trip to Meare Heath

  1. Richard, It was really good to share the encounter with the beautiful otter with you and your photos capture the moment really well. What a great experience on a beautiful day!

    Hopefully, we’ll meet up again to see more of nature’s wonders on our precious Somerset Levels. If you would like to email me, I can add you to my list of contacts to whom I send out a few photos from time to time.

    Best wishes,

    Chris

    • Thanks Chris – it was a great occasion and really good to be able to share it. Looking forward to bumping into you again. I’ll drop you an email in a mo. Blessings, Rich

Leave a Reply

