The bell tolled (eventually)

If I look relieved, it's because this time the bell rope held...

If I look relieved, it’s because the second bell rope held…

We were in the middle of my being installed as vicar of the Polden Wheel, when we came to the ceremonial bell-ringing. The Archdeacon said, “Give it a good pull so that those in Ashcott can hear it”.

So I did – and the entire bell-rope came away in my hands.

Suffice it to say that this seems to have been most people’s highlight of the service… Probably a good thing I’m not really into slightly odd rituals…

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my first few weeks as vicar of the Polden Wheel (and I’m not just saying that because I’ve just had a tasty bacon butty at Cafe Burtle this morning). Jen and I have both been genuinely impressed about the warmth of the welcome in this area – and I feel privileged to have been appointed as the vicar here.

First service at Burtle - with Helen, Josie, Jen and Alison.

First service at Burtle – with Helen, Josie, Jen and Alison. Photo: Rosemary Tucker

Jen’s still working in London two days a week (and a third from home): it’s a journey that takes us cross-country from Shapwick to Castle Cary. We travel up over Berhill and there’s a short stretch which, on a sunny day, has stunning views over to Glastonbury Tor.

Not a bd view to have on a commute... Glastonbury Tor from Berhill on the way to Castle Cary

Not a bad view to have on a commute… Glastonbury Tor from Berhill on the way to Castle Cary

The vicarage garden has plenty of potential for growing fruit and vegetables. There is one small, but growing problem… the vicarage bunny…

We'll get along fine if he understands that he can have as many buttercups as he likes, but the strawberry plants are mine...

We’ll get along fine if he understands that he can have as many buttercups as he likes, but the strawberry plants are mine…

He’s very cute, and so far we’re getting along fine… I’m just a bit worried that he’ll begin to discover why his forepaws are so well-suited to shifting soil…

I’ve also had quite a lot of bird-related conversations… The news seems to have spread that the vicar is a bit of a birdwatcher… So I’ll finish this post with a showy juvenile whitethroat that appeared while I was wandering along Shapwick Heath earlier this week.

Juvenile whitethroat at Shapwick Heath

Juvenile whitethroat at Shapwick Heath

2 thoughts on “The bell tolled (eventually)

Leave a Reply

