Misty morning

It was 6.10 in the morning. Outside it was misty; no chance of a decent photograph, so I went back to bed. I’d just hit the pillow when I thought, “hang on, isn’t this exactly the weather I want?”. I jumped out of bed, had a quick shower, and shot out of the door.

I was on retreat at Llangasty again, on the shore of Llangorse Lake, with hills all around and the Brecons to the south. There’s a lovely triangular mountain on the north-east side of the lake (Mynydd Troed; the sharp peak in the images here), and it crossed my mind that the views from there might be amazing.

So by seven I was some way up the mountain. Mist hovered over the lake and across part of the vale, and also hung over the River Usk. The peaks of the Brecon Beacons were clear. These are the best two photos I  took – and I’d encourage you to click to enlarge to see them on a larger scale… 🙂

The Brecon Beacons from Mynydd Troed, with mist hanging over Llangorse Lake (foreground) and the River Wye (midground). Click to enlarge.

The Brecon Beacons from Mynydd Troed, with mist hanging over Llangorse Lake (foreground) and the River Usk (midground). Click to enlarge.

Wider view of Llangorse Lake and the Brecons, taking in Mynydd Llangorse on the left. There's a great 12-mile circular walk taking in the lake, the low hill behind the lake (Allt) and Mynydd Llangorse.

Wider view of Llangorse Lake and the Brecons, taking in Mynydd Llangorse on the left. There’s a great 12-mile circular walk taking in the lake, the low hill behind the lake (Allt) and Mynydd Llangorse. Click to enlarge

As I got back, I noticed that the colony of house martins, which nest under the eaves, were particularly active – but occasionally some would sit, somewhat incongruously, on the slate roof. A group of 6 were particularly eye-catching.

House martins at Llangasty.

House martins at Llangasty.

Leave a Reply

