Eagle-eyed

It's always slightly disconcerting to be stared at by a bird of prey...

It’s always slightly disconcerting to be stared at by a bird of prey…

I often see buzzards as I drive around the area, sometimes soaring, but often perched on telegraph poles, surveying the scene for voles or mice.

Several times I have parked the car at the side of the road, wound down the window and pointed the camera, hoping the car would act like a hide – but while this may work for some birds, it doesn’t work for buzzards. They glare at me as if to say, Yer ‘avin’ a larf, aren’t you? and then fly off majestically.

Last week, seeing a buzzard on a pole in Knightwick, I tried again. Somehow, perhaps because I angled the viewfinder screen, I managed to convince it that the camera really wasn’t attached to a human, and was able to snap away.

What looks like a bent piece of wire sticking out of its back is probably a grass stem: I asked around, partly because I hoped I had a bird that was being satellite-tracked, but the consensus is strongly in favour of vegetation.

Buzzard at Knighwick

Buzzard at Knighwick (click image to enlarge)

July 2014 – another encounter with a buzzard, this time at Monkwood Green just outside Wichenford, which I  thought was worth sharing… This highlights the variable plumage in buzzards and why they can often cause confusion with other birds of prey.

Buzzard at Monkwood Green near Wichenford

Buzzard at Monkwood Green near Wichenford

Leave a Reply

