A common grebe – and some other feathers and fur

Having trailed down to Ham Wall last week for a rare grebe, I have to admit that the two common grebe species in this country are more impressive in appearance. I took advantage of a couple of rare days of sunshine and went to Upton Warren, a reserve about half an hour away, beyond Droitwich. A pair of great crested species appear to be nesting near one of the hides, so I spent a while there.

Great crested grebe

Great crested grebe

The grebe pair briefly tantalised those of us in the hide, as they looked like they might do the weed dance – which I would love to see. For a stunning image of this dance, take a look at one by a photographer chum from Blackpool here.

These great crested grebes tantalised for a while but didn't get onto the weed dance.

These great crested grebes tantalised for a while but didn’t get onto the weed dance.

Although I’d gone to look at water birds, I was also captivated by a vocal pair of dunnocks that were flitting around. Every so often they settled on a log pile for a few seconds… so that for an hour I kept kicking myself for missing them, until I got used to their pattern of movements to be able to anticipate what they might do.

This dunnock was showy and vocal - but never settled anywhere for long.

This dunnock was showy and vocal – but never settled anywhere for long.

Snipe are rather common but elusive waders, and I’m almost embarrassed by the number of photos I have of this one bird… but I like this brief interaction with a vociferous coot. The snipe was unmoved.

A snipe is unmoved by a vociferous coot

A snipe is unmoved by a vociferous coot

And, er, then there was ratty…

If it wasn't ratty you'd think it was cute...

If it wasn’t ratty you’d think it was cute…

2 thoughts on “A common grebe – and some other feathers and fur

  1. Lovely photos Richard, even of Ratty – Ratty in “Wind in the Willows” always did like “messing about by the river”. Glad you had a good day there. All the best 🙂

  2. Just been reading your last few blogs which I have missed. Great pics of the Grebes and Dunnock. I think I understood the astronomy one…! Dave

Leave a Reply

