Britain’s most under-rated bird (part 1)

Little grebe at Farmoor reservoir

Little grebe at Farmoor reservoir

For a while I’ve been musing about nominating the little grebe as Britain’s most under-rated bird, but assumed I’d have to wait until spring – and breeding plumage – before pressing my case. However, I got lucky today with some lovely low winter sunshine and calm conditions in a corner of Farmoor reservoir… and so with the results I’m making my first submission on this theme. 🙂 Nevertheless a little grebe’s coloring in winter is quite drab compared to spring, so the full case will have to wait until then…

A pair of little grebes at Farmoor reservoir.

A pair of little grebes at Farmoor reservoir.

I was also entertained by some pied wagtails, flitting around between the reservoir’s edge and the low wall at the edge of the path. I thought I’d try to get low to see what effect that would have on the resulting shots.

Pied wagtail

Pied wagtail

3 thoughts on “Britain’s most under-rated bird (part 1)

  1. Pingback: The Little Grebe: Britain’s most under-rated bird (part 2) | Notes from the river bank

Leave a Reply

